Skip to content
Start Main Content
The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) was established by Government legislation in 1997, having served the community since 1989 to provide higher education opportunities at the degree level by means of open learning. The University extended its service to offer full-time undergraduate programmes to secondary school leavers in 2003.

The University’s five Schools – Arts and Social Sciences, Business and Administration, Science and Technology, Education and Languages, and Nursing and Health Studies – offer a range of degree programmes including social sciences, arts, creative arts, business administration, languages, education, computing, engineering, nursing, testing and certification. Most programmes are taught in English while some programmes have Chinese as the medium of instruction. Our full-time undergraduate programmes are primarily taught by the University’s full-time academics, most of whom are doctoral degree holders, active in research with many years of teaching experience. The University takes pride in its stringent quality assurance system which is applied to all of its academic programmes.

OUHK has for a long time, been offering 4-year full-time bachelor’s degree programmes. Under the 3-3-4 curriculum, students would pursue the major area of studies, complemented by general education as well as outside discipline courses. In this way, their education experience in OUHK is well-balanced, with a broad foundation and a strong in-depth coverage of their chosen areas of specialization, to meet the challenges in the forever changing knowledge based society and community.

The Education Bureau of HKSAR (EDB) has introduced the ‘Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP)’ in 2015/2016 academic year at which four OUHK programmes were included in the scheme to offer 350 subsidized places in the disciplines of testing and certification, health care and the creative industries. More OUHK programmes have been selected under the expanded and regularized Scheme to cover a wider range of academic disciplines such as financial technology, creative arts and film arts, and sports management. The number of subsidized places offered by the University has been significantly increased to 1,040.

From 2017/18 academic year onwards, EDB provides a Non-means-tested Subsidy Scheme for Self-financing Undergraduate Studies in Hong Kong (“NMTSS”) for eligible students pursuing full-time locally-accredited local and non-local self-financing undergraduate (including top-up degree) programmes in Hong Kong offered by eligible participating institutions, including the OUHK. In the 2018/19 academic year, the maximum annual subsidy amount is HK$30,800 per student. More local students are gaining benefits from these new developments.

To cope with the growing demand, the OUHK has established the Jockey Club Campus on Chung Hau Street, Ho Man Tin. The University has just received Government approval for granting of a piece of prime site right next to the Ho Man Tin Main Campus to build another new campus. Design work is already underway for construction work to start in the second half of 2017.

The new campus would house all our health-related programmes plus a host of other facilities to enhance students’ learning experience. When completed in year 2020, the new campus would become a health education and community health care hub in Western Kowloon area.